England

England

We have a network of over 2000 community sports groups across England that are led by highly committed, passionate local heroes. They use the power of sport to transform young people’s lives and tackle problems within their communities.

 

These groups are often under-funded and under-resourced – regularly facing threats to their survival. Sported fills this gap by providing free, vital support to them to ensure their long-term sustainability and help more young people.

 

As well as youth crime and mental health, we have a particular focus on tackling inequality. Ensuring that much of our work is tailored to the needs of community sport groups working with lower socio-economic groups; Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic communities, disabled people and women.

Providing expertise and support to community organisations in marginalised communities across our network to access funding and become sustainable.

Helping community organisations to get through the Covid-19 period, alongside developing their football activities for women and girls.

Through an inspiring 12-month mentorship programme comprising personal, organisational and technical modules, Sported and Nike are working with 12 young social entrepreneurs to develop community initiatives delivering social outcomes through sport.

Supporting community groups to support young people who may be involved with crime and anti-social within their communities.

Thanks to our local and national funders

Regional Managers:

East of England – Rob Danson r.danson@sported.org.uk

East Midlands – Cheddi Gore c.gore@sported.org.uk

London – Mark Bingley m.bingley@sported.org.uk

North East – Emily Burns e.burns@sported.org.uk

North West- Rehana Koser r.koser@sported.org.uk

South East – Gil Robertson g.robertson@sported.org.uk

South West – Kathryn James k.james@sported.org.uk

West Midlands – Sophie Tobin s.tobin@sported.org.uk

Yorkshire & Humber – Paul Steele p.steele@sported.org.uk

A Sported Story