Shortlist announced for Vanessa Brown Volunteer Award 2016

To conclude our Volunteers’ Week celebrations we are delighted to announce the shortlist for the Vanessa Brown Volunteer Award 2016.


This annual award recognises and celebrates the contribution made by Sported’s volunteers to the charity’s work, the growth of its 3,000-plus members, and the development of the Sport for Development sector as a whole.


Congratulations to the following Sported volunteers who have been nominated for this year’s award by their respective National or Regional Manager.


Alan Smith – Scotland

David Smith – South West

Jonathan Fearon – Yorkshire & Humberside

Kathryn Josselyn – London

Ken Johnson – North West

Lee Butler – South East

Linda Narbeth – Wales

Martyn Brawn – West Midlands

Paul Bayman – North East

Roger Gochin – East of England

Roy Roberts – East Midlands

Wendy Robinson – Northern Ireland


The award commemorates the life of former Sported employee, Vanessa Brown, who sadly passed away in June 2014. During her time at Sported, Vanessa was instrumental in laying the foundations for the charity and helping Sir Keith Mills realise his vision of a UK-wide membership organisation for the Sport for Development sector.


The winner of the Vanessa Brown Volunteer Award 2016 will be announced at a special celebratory dinner at the House of Lords on Tuesday 5th July 2016.


Chris Grant, Chief Executive at Sported, said: “It’s fitting that in the week when we celebrate the contribution millions of volunteers make across the UK, that we express our gratitude to Sported’s own army of volunteers. The impact of their time, effort and support is felt far beyond the walls of our members’ clubs. It’s not an exaggeration to say that directly because of their selfless work, thousands of young people from some of our most disadvantaged communities have been afforded life changing opportunities.


He adds: “I’d like to take this opportunity to congratulate all those nominated and to thank every one of Sported’s 250 volunteers, without who our work would simply not be possible.”